Being Present | Meet the Blogger

Be online, or be irrelevant.

These wise words appear on the syllabus for the History and New Media course this summer.  My first reaction was, I am online.  Historian at the consulting firm History Associates by day and public history student at American University by night, I am constantly using the Internet to conduct research, execute projects, and communicate with my colleagues and peers.  Yet, upon further reflection, it occurred to me that, while I go online, I have no real or meaningful web presence.  I am, as far as web users go, a mere window shopper.  I glance, I peruse, but I don’t engage.  So, here I am, trying to make the Internet a place to where my ideas and reflections about public and digital history can live – a place to be, not simply a place to go.

Over the next six weeks, I look forward to becoming an active blogger and sharing my experience in History and New Media. I hope not only to be online, but to create content that adds to ongoing debates about history in the digital age.  Let the adventure begin.

77150_737967809624_2114551141_n

Me visiting my alma mater, Gettysburg College.

Leave a Reply

